USMC Rank Structure

Enlisted Ranks

E-1   Private (Pvt.)

E-2   Private First Class (PFC)

E-3   Lance Corporal   (LCPL)

E-4   Corporal (CPL)

E-5   Sergeant   (Sgt.)

E-6   Staff Sergeant (SSgt.)

E-7   Gunnery Sergeant (Gunny)

E-8    Master Sergeant (MSgt.)

E-8    First Sergeant (1st Sgt.)

E-9    Master Gunnery Sergeant (Master Guns – “Gunny”)

E-9    Sergeant Major (Sergeant Major)

E- 9   Sergeant Major of the Marine Corps


Warrant Officers

W-1   Warrant Officer

W-2   Chief Warrant Officer 2

W-3   Chief Warrant Officer 3

W-4   Chief Warrant Officer 4

W-5   Chief Warrant Officer 5


O-1    Second Lieutenant

O-2    First Lieutenant

O-3    Captain

O-4    Major

O-5    Lieutenant Colonel

O-6    Colonel


(An easy way to remember the level of the Generals is the lttle saying “Be My Little General”)

O-7    Brigadier General

O-8    Major General

O-9    Lieutenant General

O-10  General